Mowering time at Yaamba as club hosts first interclub meet

CENTRAL Queensland mower racing enthusiasts powered up their engines over the weekend, as CQ Mower Racing Club hosted an action packed weekend of interclub racing at Yaamba.

Ride-on mower racing was a rapidly growing sport throughout Australia, especially in Queensland, and with a new and improved purpose built gravel and clay race track now established at Yaamba, the CQ Mower Racing Club was ready to mix it with the best.

The CQMRC held their first intra-club event on Saturday afternoon continuing on Sunday morning with 20 mowers competing in a round of the state titles and from as far afield as the Sunshine Coast, Maryborough and Bundaberg.

CQMRC president Ken Booy said the mowers were split into three divisions based on their qualifying times, A, B and C with each grade competing in seven heats.

"The visitors dominated the A-grade with only one local, Dave Andrews making it into the top grade," Booy said.

"After seven heats, the accumulated points winner of the A-grade was Mark Shipton from the Sunshine Coast, with Jason Grundy from Maryborough in second and Peter Enright from the Sunshine Coast in third."

"Local pub owner Dave Andrews from Yaamba finished in fifth place."

Local father and son team of Booy and his son Sean battled it out for the top two positions in the B-grade event with Sean walking away with the win by just one point ahead of his father in second while Trent Sanderson from Bundaberg placed third.

Sunshine Coast competitor Shipton also won the Top 10 Shootout with a new lap record time of 32.85 seconds.

Booy said the club was extremely pleased with the feedback received from fellow racers, which included comments that the Yaamba track was the best they had ever raced on or seen and that the even had raised the bar and set a new benchmark for other clubs in the State.

"The racers from down south have been racing for over 10 years and the feedback we got after the race was that it was the best run meeting they have attended as everything ran like clockwork and finished on time," Booy said.

"We were well pleased with the feedback and how the whole meeting went and were so lucky with the weather holding out as the floods and rain this year had delayed us so much and we only finished building the track the week before."



1st Mark Shipton (Sunshine Coast)

2nd Jason Grundy (Maryborough)

3rd Peter Enright (Sunshine Coast)


1st Sean Booy (Yaamba)

2nd Ken Booy (Yaamba)

3rd Trent Sanderson (Bundaberg)


1st Wayne McKellar (Fraser Coast)

2nd Russell Smith (Gracemere)

3rd Mitchell Mcleod (Fraser Coast)