Opinion

Sat 19 May 2018

SPIRITUAL MATTERS: Royal reminder of family values

SPIRITUAL MATTERS: Royal reminder of family values

'THE popular press has stirred up a frenzy of speculation about Meaghan Markle's family, which is not helpful and quite unfair.'

Fri 18 May 2018

'Good bloke' Peter Miles was a violent selfish monster

'Good bloke' Peter Miles was a violent selfish monster

If a "good bloke" is someone who shoots sleeping women and children dead, what on earth does it take to be a bad bloke, asks journalist SHERELE MOODY

BEHIND THE SPORTS DESK: Is the Maroons dynasty dead?

premium_icon BEHIND THE SPORTS DESK: Is the Maroons dynasty dead?

We crunch the numbers on the representative retirement of 'The Accountant' Cameron Smith.

Thu 17 May 2018

What no one is saying about Meghan

What no one is saying about Meghan

MEGHAN Markle will be officially giving away her career when she marries Prince Harry. But there’s no reason she should do so.

Israel evil? But what would you have done?

Israel evil? But what would you have done?

Yes, Israel looks monstrous for shooting dead about 60 Palestinians who were threatening to tear down the fence along its border with Gaza.

Mobile phone ban at schools: nice touch of reality

Mobile phone ban at schools: nice touch of reality

As I watch people fixated on their phones while playing in a park with their kids, the realisation of how stupid it all is becomes super clear.

Wed 16 May 2018

Trump’s apocalyptic vision for Israel

Trump’s apocalyptic vision for Israel

PROPHECY is unfolding in the Middle East. Riots. Killings. War. At its centre is President Donald Trump. And his evangelical supporters are hoping he will bring on...

When good men do bad things and other crocks

premium_icon When good men do bad things and other crocks

Will there ever be a right time to stop covering up the dysfunction of a patriarchal society?

ROYAL WEDDING: Why Meghan’s dad shouldn’t be there

ROYAL WEDDING: Why Meghan’s dad shouldn’t be there

MEGHAN Markle is said to be distraught that her dad won’t be at her upcoming wedding to Prince Harry. But it’s actually a good thing.

Take the leap and go your own way solo

premium_icon Take the leap and go your own way solo

IN THIS week's Insider's Guide to Gen-Y, journalist Jarrard Potter shares his experiences of travelling on his own

JT, what are you up to on June 6?

premium_icon JT, what are you up to on June 6?

AS hard as it seems to replace Cameron Smith, the solution is easier than Queensland believe.

Tue 15 May 2018

IT'S EVIL: No 'good' blokes murder innocent people

premium_icon IT'S EVIL: No 'good' blokes murder innocent people

Some of the narrative around the horrific domestic violence murders that left six innocents and one alleged perpetrator dead last week is disturbing

OPINION: We all have the power to create change

OPINION: We all have the power to create change

Columnist Jordie Lynch says ordinary people can do extraordinary things if we make the right decisions.

Why we need gender quotas to improve Aussie politics

Why we need gender quotas to improve Aussie politics

OPINION: Quotas don't eliminate selection on merit, but get rid of the boy's club and old school tie where strings are pulled for mediocre performers

Mon 14 May 2018

Why royal wedding will be every bride’s nightmare

Why royal wedding will be every bride’s nightmare

OPINION: It’s a right royal nightmare and a production bigger than Ben Hur. Here’s why Meghan Markle’s big day is a disaster waiting to unfold.

David Goodall had every right to choose euthanasia

premium_icon David Goodall had every right to choose euthanasia

THE 104-year-old scientist’s decision to end his own life should be respected, but instead conservative groups are using it to point score, says Karen Brooks.

It was brutal but it was her own fault

premium_icon It was brutal but it was her own fault

ON Saturday, Assistant Minister for Social Services and Disability Services Jane Prentice lost her preselection to a much younger Julian Simmonds.

Sun 13 May 2018

A letter to my ex: The kids notice when you treat me badly

A letter to my ex: The kids notice when you treat me badly

PARENTING should never be a race to the bottom, you don't need to step up for me, you need to do it for them.

OPINION: There's nothing quite like a good ghost story

OPINION: There's nothing quite like a good ghost story

IT doesn't matter whether you're a believer or a skeptic - there's nothing quite like a good ghost story.

Sat 12 May 2018

LUDWIG: Lagoon and multi-sports facility a 'coming of age'

LUDWIG: Lagoon and multi-sports facility a 'coming of age'

The new infrastructure at Capricorn Coast will bring more tourists to the area

Newer Older