Opinion

Sun 15 Sep 2019

Outrageous Insta trend is hilariously bad

Outrageous Insta trend is hilariously bad

If you don’t think this trend is out-of-touch, you’ve probably done it yourself. James Weir writes about the Insta craze that is so bad it’s hilarious.

Sat 14 Sep 2019

NECESSARY EVIL: Drug tests a case of tough love

premium_icon NECESSARY EVIL: Drug tests a case of tough love

ON THE surface random drug testing trial and cashless welfare cards appear provocative to a society that has rarely had its system shaken from the bottom up.

Fri 13 Sep 2019

Opinion: ‘I must question Adani’s actual investment’

premium_icon Opinion: ‘I must question Adani’s actual investment’

Readers share views on Adani, governance and mould issues

Thu 12 Sep 2019

My humiliating Today show sacking

My humiliating Today show sacking

From 2002 to 2004 Sami Lukis was living the dream, working as Today’s weather girl — but in January 2005, one phone call changed her life.

YOUR SAY: Traditional burn-offs could prevent disaster

premium_icon YOUR SAY: Traditional burn-offs could prevent disaster

'Maybe we need to learn from the Aborigines as we have now ruined the soil.'

Courage under fire to help complete strangers

premium_icon Courage under fire to help complete strangers

It’s a special breed of person who willingly puts themselves in harm’s way to help complete strangers.

Wed 11 Sep 2019

We’re still living in a post 9/11 world

premium_icon We’re still living in a post 9/11 world

The September 11 attacks changed history in ways we never envisaged at the time — and make the preceding bloody decade seem like a golden age in comparison, writes...

Fire can’t destroy what’s alive in spirit

premium_icon Fire can’t destroy what’s alive in spirit

For those hundreds of thousands of people who have stayed there, Binna Burra Lodge is a loss that feels personal, writes Frances Whiting.

Tue 10 Sep 2019

Fire crews save Angourie from ember shower

premium_icon Fire crews save Angourie from ember shower

THE men and women who put themselves directly in the line of fire are the difference between whole neighbourhoods standing or smouldering.

Will this be our fire season from hell?

premium_icon Will this be our fire season from hell?

In almost 35 years in newspapers in Queensland, I can’t remember a fire season like this in terms of stories dominating our coverage. Straight out of hell.

The devastating bushfire image that said it all

premium_icon The devastating bushfire image that said it all

It was the smallest creature who offered the greatest perspective as one of the most devasating bushfires wreaked havoc, writes Ann Wason Moore.

Predators, dealers get less than a battling grazier

Predators, dealers get less than a battling grazier

Grazier taken down in court for trying to survive, criminals walk free for much worse.

Mon 9 Sep 2019

Byron’s beachside soul trampled by Instagram tragics

premium_icon Byron’s beachside soul trampled by Instagram tragics

Byron used to be where wet hair, sandy feet and solid work ethic were the norm. Now the surfing hotspot has been overrun by the Instagram elite, trying to make...

Sun 8 Sep 2019

We owe them more than a debt of gratitude

premium_icon We owe them more than a debt of gratitude

Our 36,000 rural firefighting volunteers drop everything to protect our communities. Is it fair for them to suffer economic loss through that sacrifice?

Surprising location of stunning wines

premium_icon Surprising location of stunning wines

Ignore these wines at your peril, warns Travis Schultz

The cruel twist Karl didn’t see coming

The cruel twist Karl didn’t see coming

In the controversial 60 Minutes exposé on Meghan Markle, there’s an awkward twist that makes it even more confusing. James Weir writes.

Sat 7 Sep 2019

Office moment that led to sex complaint

Office moment that led to sex complaint

Every day for months, Matt went for coffee with an assistant in his office — then one day their relationship changed, leaving Matt reeling.

Fri 6 Sep 2019

Trad’s 16 home truths we need to know

premium_icon Trad’s 16 home truths we need to know

With the CCC set to reveal if it will investigate Jackie Trad over a contentious property purchase, the embattled Treasurer can’t wait to tell her side of the...

Defendants get a dressing down in our courts

premium_icon Defendants get a dressing down in our courts

MORE than a few defendants have been copping a dressing down in court of late, but this young bloke took that to new heights.

Thu 5 Sep 2019

Harry and Meghan’s ‘spectacular’ blunder

Harry and Meghan’s ‘spectacular’ blunder

This should have been a shining week for Harry and Meghan — but instead they’re being crucified yet again, thanks to one simple mistake.

Newer Older